Salmon with Crisp Chilli and Ginger Salad



I love Salmon.  In fact, when it comes to fish, Salmon is what I have almost all the time – I know …. I am very boring.

The first time I tried this recipe was at my friend’s house, Lila.  I loved the freshness of this combination and found out that the recipe was from one of Donna Hay’s cookbooks called Flavors.   As I have all Donna Hays cookbooks (I love the photos in her books) and had not ever made anything from those books, I thought it was time to try this one – it is easy to make, tasty and looks beautiful.

4 pieces salmon filet

Juice of 2 or 3 limes

2-4 tbsp peanut oil

4 large green chillies, seeded and thinly sliced

4 large red chillies, seeded and thinly sliced

4 tbsp shredded fresh ginger

1/2 cup fresh thai basil

1/2 cup fresh mint

1/2 cup fresh cilantro

Salt

Serves 4
 
1. Place oil in a frying pan over high heat, add the chillies and ginger and cook 5-7 minutes until crisp.  
2. Remove the chillies and ginger from the pan with a slotted spoon and drain on paper towel.  Set aside.
3.  Use the same frying pan and oil, heat to medium, add the salmon to the pan and cook for 2 mintes each side or until cooked to your liking.
4.  Toss the chillies and ginger with the basil, mint and coriander.
5.  Place the salmon on plates, top with the chilli salad and drizzle over the lime juice.
 
 
Leave a Reply

